Admin users can remove users at any time and re-assign their documents to somebody else.
When you remove a user from a team they will immediately lose access to it. You can add that person back to your team at any time, but they will not be re-assigned their documents.
Check out this article for more information about managing users.
This short video shows how you remove a user and re-assign their documents to another member of the team.